website statistics Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani - PDF Books Online
Hot Best Seller

Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani

Availability: Ready to download

From Althea Gibson author Megan Reid and rising star artist Aaliya Jaleel, illustrator of Under My Hijab, comes the first picture book about trailblazing mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman to win the world’s most prestigious honor in mathematics. Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars. As a little girl, Maryam Mirzakhani was spellbound by s From Althea Gibson author Megan Reid and rising star artist Aaliya Jaleel, illustrator of Under My Hijab, comes the first picture book about trailblazing mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman to win the world’s most prestigious honor in mathematics. Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars. As a little girl, Maryam Mirzakhani was spellbound by stories. She loved reading in Tehran’s crowded bookstores, and at home she'd spend hours crafting her own tales on giant rolls of paper. Maryam loved school, especially her classes in reading and writing. But she did not like math. Numbers were nowhere near as interesting as the bold, adventurous characters she found in books. Until Maryam unexpectedly discovered a new genre of storytelling: In geometry, numbers became shapes, each with its own fascinating personality—making every equation a brilliant story waiting to be told. As an adult, Maryam became a professor, inventing new formulas to solve some of math's most complicated puzzles. And she made history by becoming the first woman—and the first Iranian—to win the Fields Medal, mathematics’ highest award. Maryam's Magic is the true story of a girl whose creativity and love of stories helped her—and the world—to see math in a new and inspiring way.


Compare

From Althea Gibson author Megan Reid and rising star artist Aaliya Jaleel, illustrator of Under My Hijab, comes the first picture book about trailblazing mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman to win the world’s most prestigious honor in mathematics. Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars. As a little girl, Maryam Mirzakhani was spellbound by s From Althea Gibson author Megan Reid and rising star artist Aaliya Jaleel, illustrator of Under My Hijab, comes the first picture book about trailblazing mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman to win the world’s most prestigious honor in mathematics. Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars. As a little girl, Maryam Mirzakhani was spellbound by stories. She loved reading in Tehran’s crowded bookstores, and at home she'd spend hours crafting her own tales on giant rolls of paper. Maryam loved school, especially her classes in reading and writing. But she did not like math. Numbers were nowhere near as interesting as the bold, adventurous characters she found in books. Until Maryam unexpectedly discovered a new genre of storytelling: In geometry, numbers became shapes, each with its own fascinating personality—making every equation a brilliant story waiting to be told. As an adult, Maryam became a professor, inventing new formulas to solve some of math's most complicated puzzles. And she made history by becoming the first woman—and the first Iranian—to win the Fields Medal, mathematics’ highest award. Maryam's Magic is the true story of a girl whose creativity and love of stories helped her—and the world—to see math in a new and inspiring way.

56 review for Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani

  1. 4 out of 5

    Ben Truong

    Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani is a children's picture book written by Megan Reid and illustrated by Aaliya Jaleel. It centers on the achievements of mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani – first woman and first Iranian to win the Fields Medal, the most important award in the field of mathematics. Maryam Mirzakhani was an Iranian mathematician and a professor of mathematics at Stanford University. Her research topics included Teichmüller theory, hyperbolic geometry, ergodi Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani is a children's picture book written by Megan Reid and illustrated by Aaliya Jaleel. It centers on the achievements of mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani – first woman and first Iranian to win the Fields Medal, the most important award in the field of mathematics. Maryam Mirzakhani was an Iranian mathematician and a professor of mathematics at Stanford University. Her research topics included Teichmüller theory, hyperbolic geometry, ergodic theory, and symplectic geometry. Reid's text is rather simplistic, straightforward, and informative. Reid delves into Maryam’s life, describing her studies and interests in high school and college in Iran, her pursuit of a graduate degree at Harvard University, her winning the Fields Medal in 2014, and her death in 2017, at the age of 40. Backmatter includes an author's note, a timeline and further readings. Jaleel’s soft cartoons pair well with Reid's words, reinforcing that Maryam was not just a math genius, but someone who loved books and used stories to solve tough problems. The premise of the book is rather straightforward. As a young girl, Maryam was a storyteller and an avid reader – her favorite street was filled with bookstores. She was not, however, a fan of math until she discovered geometry, which made her feel like every number held a story. It was because of geometry, which would lead Maryam to win the Fields Medal. All in all, Maryam's Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani is wonderful book highlighting an important figure and demonstrates that one can excel in more than one field at a time.

  2. 5 out of 5

    Amy

    As a person who has really struggled with mathematics my whole life, I found this book really encouraging and beautiful. Maryam loved reading and writing stories and didn't like math...until she found a way to use what she loved to helped her understand what she was struggling with. The idea of using story and art to help understand something so logical as math really spoke to me and made me consider as an educator how we could better engage children by using their strengths to help them in thei As a person who has really struggled with mathematics my whole life, I found this book really encouraging and beautiful. Maryam loved reading and writing stories and didn't like math...until she found a way to use what she loved to helped her understand what she was struggling with. The idea of using story and art to help understand something so logical as math really spoke to me and made me consider as an educator how we could better engage children by using their strengths to help them in their weaknesses. I found Maryam a fascinating individual with truly amazing talents and was so sad to read at the end that she had just passed away a few years ago at such a young age. She has become a new inspiration!

  3. 5 out of 5

    Brittany Baker

    Maryam Mirzakhani's life story is incredible and inspiring. While she disliked math as a child, as a young adult she learns to love geometry and goes on to be the first woman to win the Field Medal, the highest international prize in mathematics. This lively picture book shows math as it is rarely seen in classroom lessons: creative, alive and deeply meaningful. Maryam Mirzakhani's life story is incredible and inspiring. While she disliked math as a child, as a young adult she learns to love geometry and goes on to be the first woman to win the Field Medal, the highest international prize in mathematics. This lively picture book shows math as it is rarely seen in classroom lessons: creative, alive and deeply meaningful.

  4. 4 out of 5

    Bozhena Levine

    Such a wonderful story! A beautiful tribute to an amazing woman. Maryam Mirzakhani is the only woman to win a Fields Medal — the highest honor in mathematics. Can’t wait to share this amazing book with my English Language Learners who would see themselves represented on its pages.

  5. 4 out of 5

    Bookish

    Inspiring biography that will connect for children the link between creativity and mathematics.

  6. 5 out of 5

    Ann Williams

    The story of mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman and the first Iranian to win the prestigious Fields Medal. An important read, especially for those who love math.

  7. 4 out of 5

    Cassidy

  8. 4 out of 5

    Caralen

  9. 4 out of 5

    Annie

  10. 5 out of 5

    Patricia (Punky Bookster)

  11. 5 out of 5

    Melissa

  12. 4 out of 5

    Christina

  13. 4 out of 5

    E.VanceStewart

  14. 4 out of 5

    Katy Punch

  15. 4 out of 5

    Nicole Misra

  16. 4 out of 5

    Keri

  17. 5 out of 5

    Kira

  18. 4 out of 5

    Nicole

  19. 4 out of 5

    Sarah

  20. 5 out of 5

    Pouria Nazemi

  21. 5 out of 5

    Donette David

  22. 5 out of 5

    Annalisa

  23. 5 out of 5

    Crystal Young

  24. 4 out of 5

    Dylan Teut

  25. 5 out of 5

    Rachel

  26. 5 out of 5

    Alyssa

  27. 5 out of 5

    Sara

  28. 4 out of 5

    Kim

  29. 5 out of 5

    Cara

  30. 5 out of 5

    Jessica Breed

  31. 5 out of 5

    Lia

  32. 4 out of 5

    Fiammetta

  33. 5 out of 5

    Sidikha Ashraf

  34. 5 out of 5

    ٨:١٦

  35. 5 out of 5

    molliekay

  36. 5 out of 5

    Jennifer

  37. 4 out of 5

    Elizabeth

  38. 4 out of 5

    Aliza Werner

  39. 4 out of 5

    Shelly Moody

  40. 4 out of 5

    Amy

  41. 5 out of 5

    Reem Faruqi

  42. 4 out of 5

    Danielle

  43. 5 out of 5

    Mahdihoseinpoor

  44. 5 out of 5

    Zahra Asadi

  45. 4 out of 5

    Dokhtareaftab

  46. 4 out of 5

    Amir

  47. 5 out of 5

    Samira

  48. 5 out of 5

    Ali

  49. 5 out of 5

    Lida Zareian

  50. 4 out of 5

    Shobhit

  51. 5 out of 5

    B

  52. 5 out of 5

    Olisha

  53. 5 out of 5

    Shoshana Frank

  54. 4 out of 5

    J L

  55. 4 out of 5

    Paula

  56. 4 out of 5

    Becky

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.